Meditation

No sooner than I shut my mouth
the thoughts begin to fly around
The carriage ways run north and south
My preoccupations abound
The still voice squashed beneath the din
drowned out by the chaos called ‘life’
Is he I want to reach within
And so my soul’s beset with strife
As yet I have not found the cure
Elders say to keep to the lane
On days i want to quit for sure
But victory’s price is daily pain
I close my eyes again today
To stretch my roots beneath the ground
And as the ‘band’ begins to play
I yank the cord to kill their sound
The loss of noise is strange to me
Some days for clamor I still mourn
But this is how it has to be
For dusk to give way to new morn
Leave a Reply

