Last Day of 2015

On this day of the year in the past, I always found myself in a pensive, reflective mood. I was also quite big on resolutions until my utter lack of follow through became evident with a litany of failures year after year. With time, I ditched the New Year’s Resolution bit but I held tightly to my conviction that New Year’s Eve was a day for ‘sober reflection’.

This year has been kind of different. Maybe because I’ve been a bit out of sorts and all over the place…trying to find an apartment, buy a car and settle into a new role at work probably does that to you! So in a weird way, I feel like I’m unprepared for the coming year! Apparently my ritual means more than I really understood.

It’s 5 hours to the new year in my time zone at the moment. I noticed the niggling feeling earlier in the day, like I wasn’t doing something right. I couldn’t shake the thought that all my activities (all very useful if I may say so myself…) weren’t the best use of the day. Up until now that is…

So I’m asking myself “Am I really unprepared for the new year? Just because I didn’t spend the entire day in deep thought, will I struggle? It’s just tomorrow isn’t it? Just another few hours away right? Why didn’t I feel this way about any of the other 364 transitions all year? Why has the turn of the calendar assumed such a high place in my mind?”

I don’t think I have clear answers to these questions but this much is true to me as I write this:

  • Tomorrow will be a day just like any other
  • Today, and every other day before it has prepared me (or at least offered me the opportunity to be prepared) for tomorrow and all the days that may follow it
  • We may cheer ‘Happy New Year’, but life is still and will always be lived one day at a time

I don’t know what tomorrow holds, but I’m hopeful. I will be just fine. Apologies for not having any nuggets of wisdom to share here, just random musings straight from my heart.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “Last Day of 2015

  1. I read through with trepidation waiting for the bombshell of wisdom you would drop to throw me out of sync as usual. But surprisingly enough I felt peace as I read the last sentence because somehow I also did not feel any buzz or excitement, just a calculated focus on making sure my 2016 was going to turn out exceptionally which is the way I wake up and feel every single day. So no new year resolutions but these words ‘No Shaking’ resonate in my mind. So what ever 2016 has in stock for me am ready, Bring it On, No Shaking. Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

