THE SEED

The agony of unaccomplished tasks
Why you feel it so intense,everyone asks.
Can I tell them,will they understand?
Relate,with this quagmire in which I stand?

Seized! Ceased! The pangs of birth.

In my hand an acorn,in my heart an oak
All that is,shrouded within a cloak
Groans and tongues unintelligible
As I struggle to make my voice audible.

Seized! Ceased! The pangs of birth.

At once great,at once utterly minute
Who I am,who I ought to be-the point is moot.
To roam the streets among the nameless,faceless
A footnote in history or a headline,timeless?

Seized! Ceased! The pangs of birth.

The man in the mirror neither me nor who I’ll be
How long till I throw off the chains binding me?
In the day,my lot is with the dregs
In my dreams,a lofty destiny begs

Seized! Ceased! The pangs of birth.

Two leeches fastened to my soul cry More! More!
For how long waiting at the precipice,at the door?
I want to pack up,lock up and give up…
Maybe its not true,perhaps its all made up!

Seized! Ceased! The pangs of birth.

In stages,in phases constantly moulting
Round and round the potters’ wheel,moulding
For the Cedars of Lebanon to stand tall,
Then the grain of wheat shall first fall….

Leave a Reply

